Review: The Phrophet by Kahlil Gibran

Skip down to bolded title for review without the jibber jabber.

this is my first review (per request of my first commentor :)) and it is quite rough. you’ll have to excuse my lack of lingo and vocabulary and bare with me while i work on my writing.  in fact im using WP as a platform to practice expressing myself through words and really working on articulation and being eloquent.  i’ve always admired people who can speak and tell a story well.  there is something beautiful about a sentence that is clear, concise and fluff-free and if they can do with eloquence then they have my heart .  hopefully when i look back 6 months or 1 year from now i will find some improvements.  

currently, i’m reading On Writing Well, William Zinsser and it’s been helpful.  let me know your thoughts, i truly welcome any constructive critiques and suggestions.

Now on with the review..

The Prophet – I’m half way into the book and I’m truly enjoying it. The beginning was difficult to begin (for me at least) because of the old wording style.  It’s on philosophies dealing with everyday life and written in forms of poems. It would be a great tool to go back to whenever you find yourself hesitant and questioning on how to approach something.  Also, it would be something nice to read through as a reminder for upholding values and why life is so profoundly beautiful.

Here im including an excerpt as an incentive to read because it is so beautifully written.  Took me a while to narrow down and even then it was extremely hard to keep it short.  This section is on children and although I dont have any myself, I have been and still is one.  I hope that this would be the way I would raise mine in the future.

On Children –
“You may give them your love but not your thoughts, For they have their own thoughts.”…”You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you. For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.”…”You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.  The Archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.  Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness; For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.”   — Amazeballs. love it. buy it. read it.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Phrophet by Kahlil Gibran

  1. Awesome poem choice and a great reflection for what God wants for all of us. I may have to pick up a copy when I finish with the huge stack of books in my nightstand.
    Keep writing- you are doing fantastically!
    (BTW- That dedication has a story in and of itself.)

  2. Pingback: Review: The Phrophet by Kahlil Gibran | Theolo-Gee!

  3. Pingback: Yesterday, today, and tomorrow. « belikewatermedia.com

Leave a Reply

